Tuesday, January 08, 2008

Peter Griffin Hosting Elan Game Awards

Click image to enlarge...

The Producers of the Canadian Awards for the Electronic and Animated Arts (CAEAA) along with their Event Partners Ernst & Young, Electronic Arts (EA), Autodesk, N-GAGE by NOKIA, and the Government of British Columbia have announced Seth "Family Guy" MacFarlane as Host for the 2nd Annual Elan Awards Show, February 15th, 2008 at The Centre in Vancouver for the Performing Arts.

"I am extremely excited to be hosting the 2nd Annual Elan Awards," said MacFarlane, creator, executive producer and the voice of 'Peter Griffin' on the hit animated TV series "Family Guy".

"I am, of course, heavily involved in animation, and gaming seems to be the wave of the future. But most of all, I’m excited to purchase inexpensive prescription drugs and smuggle them back into the United States ."

"It’s obvious that he’s the perfect Host for our awards show especially given the industries we honour, Animation and Video Gaming, and it’s these industries that we owe the idea of inviting Seth to Host, " said Holly Carinci, producer of the Elan Awards.

"We’re just so happy and not a little relieved that he accepted! It’s not easy finding the right Host for two different industries and we’ve certainly got that with Seth.”

Seth MacFarlane began his career studying animation and design at the Rhode Island School of Design, where he created the animated short film "The Life of Larry," which later became the inspiration for "Family Guy". "Family Guy" was picked up by FOX in 1998, and MacFarlane went on to receive an Emmy Award for Outstanding Voice-Over Performance. In 2002 he received an Emmy for Outstanding Music and Lyrics for "Family Guy".

MacFarlane also serves as co-creator/executive producer/star of the FOX animated series "American Dad", entering its fourth season.

The Elan Awards, which awards the talent behind the burgeoning professional Video Gaming and Animation industries, as well as the raw talent (students) coming from Digital Art Educational Institutions, began in its first year as a Canadian-only Awards show but added International “Best of” categories for all three of these industries for their second production of the show. Participation exploded after only one year into an enormous network of Video Game, Animation and Digital Art Schools worldwide who were eager to participate.

"We are quite taken aback by the enthusiasm of so many countries outside of Canada to participate in this show." said Carinci.

"We believe that this early World wide Industry participation in the Elans is positive indication of our mandate in establishing Canada as the World centre for Video Gaming and the celebration of Canada ’s incredible contribution to the world in Animation and the educational Institutions behind the future talent in both phenomenal industries. In short, we are looking to one day soon produce the Oscar-equivalent for both Animation and Video Gaming. Having a host the caliber of Seth MacFarlane and worldwide participation in what is only the second show, the future looks very bright."

The 2nd Annual Elan Awards will be held in Vancouver , British Columbia , Canada at The Centre in Vancouver for the Performing Arts and their Official Hotelier The Sutton Place Hotel, Vancouver (one of only two AAA Five Diamond Hotels in all of Canada ).

Backing their efforts are supporters of the Elans which includes Alexander Holburn Beaudin & Lang LLP, Seven Group, Annex Pro, Foundation 9/Backbone Entertainment, Radical Entertainment, Next Level Games, slant six games, Studio B Productions, Mercury Filmworks, Action Pants, Atomic Robot Games, Blue Castle Games, Voicebox Productions, Western Imperial Magnetics, 90 Degree Software, David Kaye Productions, Raven Tales, Selkirk College, The Art Institute of Vancouver, Emily Carr Institute, Sheridan College, Vancouver Film School, School of Interactive Arts and Technology (SFU), University of Washington Department of Communications, BC Film, Vancouver Economic Development Commission, Tourism Vancouver, BC Innovation Council, as well as Uniglobe Advance Travel, FedEx, Paramount Limousines, Chloe Angus Designs, Moore’s Clothing for Men and the Awards Auditing firm, Buckley Dodds & Assoc.s...